Visions

09/09/2011 Comments Off on Visions

Visions defined: an experience in which a personage, thing, or event appears vividly or credibly to the mind, although not actually present, often under the influence of a divine or other agency.

Visionary 1. full of foresight: characterized by unusually acute foresight and imagination 2. imaginary: produced by, resulting from, or originating in the imagination 3. incapable of being realized: so idealistic or unrealistic as to be unrealizable in practice 4. given to dreaminess: tending by nature to be dreamy or to have impractical schemes and ideas 5. relating to mystical visions:relating to or seen in a mystical vision 6. parapsychology having visions: given to seeing mystical visions 7. somebody with much foresight: somebody of unusually acute foresight and imagination 8. parapsychology somebody who has visions: somebody who has mystical visions 9. dreamer: somebody who daydreams or indulges in impractical schemes and ideas

Hinduism Arjuna said: By my hearing the instructions You have kindly given me about these most confidential spiritual subjects, my illusion has now been dispelled. Bhagavad Gita 11.1

O greatest of all personalities, O supreme form, though I see You here before me in Your actual position, as You have described Yourself, I wish to see how You have entered into this cosmic manifestation. I want to see that form of Yours  Bhagavad Gita 11.3

The Supreme Personality of Godhead said: My dear Arjuna, O son of Pritha, see now My opulences, hundreds of thousands of varieddivine and multicolored forms.  Bhagavad Gita 11.5

But you cannot see Me with your present eyes. Therefore I give you divine eyes. Behold My mystic opulence!Bhagavad Gita 11.8

Arjuna saw in that universal form unlimited mouths, unlimited eyes, unlimited wonderful visions. The form was decorated with many celestial ornaments and bore many divine upraised weapons. He wore celestial garlands and garments, and many divine scents were smeared over His body. All was wondrous, brilliant, unlimited, all-expanding. If hundreds of thousands of suns were to rise at once into the sky, their radiance might resemble the effulgence of the Supreme Person in that universal form.Bhagavad Gita 11.10-11-12
Bhagwad Gita Chapter 11

Christianity he said, “Listen to my words: “When a prophet of the LORD is among you, I reveal myself to him in visions, I speak to him in dream [The Bible,Numbers 12:6 (New International Version)]

The LORD Calls Samuel The boy Samuel ministered before the LORD under Eli. In those days the word of the LORD was rare; there were not many visions.
[The Bible, 1 Samuel 3:1 (New International Version)]

13 When I think my bed will comfort me
and my couch will ease my complaint,
14 even then you frighten me with dreams
and terrify me with visions,
15 so that I prefer strangling and death,
rather than this body of mine. (Job 7:13-15)

They say to the seers,
“See no more visions!”
and to the prophets,
“Give us no more visions of what is right!

Tell us pleasant things,
prophesy illusions. [Isaiah 30:10]

13 But I said, “Ah, Sovereign LORD, the prophets keep telling them, ‘You will
not see the sword or suffer famine. Indeed, I will give you lasting
peace in this place.’ ”
14 Then the LORD said to me, “The prophets are prophesying lies in my
name. I have not sent them or appointed them or spoken to them. They
are prophesying to you false visions, divinations, idolatries [a] and the delusions of their own minds.

15 Therefore, this is what the LORD says about the prophets who are
prophesying in my name: I did not send them, yet they are saying, ‘No
sword or famine will touch this land.’ Those same prophets will perish
by sword and famine. [Jeremiah 14:13-15]

Tagged:

Comments are closed.

What’s this?

You are currently reading Visions at One Light Many Windows.

meta

