Service

09/09/2011 Comments Off on Service

defined: an act of helpful activity; help; aid

1ser·vice
noun \ˈsər-vəs\

1
a : the occupation or function of serving b : employment as a servant
2
a : the work performed by one that serves b : help, use, benefit c : contribution to the welfare of others d : disposal for use
3
a : a form followed in worship or in a religious ceremony b : a meeting for worship —often used in plural
4
: the act of serving: as a : a helpful act b : useful labor that does not produce a tangible commodity —usually used in plural c : serve

Buddhism

Your work is to discover your work – and then with all your heart to give yourself to it.~Buddha

A generous heart, kind speech,
and a life of service and compassion
are the things which renew humanity.
– The Buddha“If you lose all differentiation between yourselves and others, fit to serve others you will be. And when in serving others you will win success, then shall you meet with me; And finding me, you shall attain to Buddhahood.” Milarepa

Taoism/aka Daoism
Heaven is eternal and Earth everlasting. They can be eternal and everlasting because they do not exist for them-selves, And for this reason can exist forever.
Therefore the sage places himself in the background, but finds himself in the foreground. He puts himself away, and yet he always remains. Is it not because he has no personal interests? This is the reason why his personal interests are fulfilled. Tao Te Ching

Islam The best of men are those who are useful to others.  Hadith of Bukhar

Christianity God has created me to do Him some definite service; He has committed some work to me which He has not committed to another. I have a mission. I am a link in a chain, a bond of connection between persons… Whatever I am I can never be thrown away. If I am in sickness, my sickness will serve Him; In perplexity, my perplexity will serve Him; He does nothing in vain, He knows what He is about. John Henry Cardinal Newman

More quotes on service in Simple Truths library

Tagged:

Comments are closed.

What’s this?

You are currently reading Service at One Light Many Windows.

meta

