Mercy

09/04/2011 Comments Off on Mercy

 


Mercy

1. compassion: kindness or forgiveness shown especially to somebody a person has power over
The judge showed mercy and imposed the shortest sentence he could.

2. compassionate disposition: a disposition to be compassionate or forgiving of others
a killer completely without mercy

3. something to be thankful for: a welcome event or situation that provides relief or prevents something unpleasant from happening
It was a mercy that no one was hurt in the accident.

4. easing of distress: the easing of distress or pain
The supply convoy was on a mission of mercy.

[12th century. Via French merci “thank you” < Latin merces “reward, wages”]

Christianity Let souls who are striving for perfection particularly adore my mercy because the abundance of graces I grant them flows from my mercy. I desire that these souls distinguish themselves by boundless trust in my mercy. I myself will attend to the sanctification of such souls…The more a soul trusts, the more it will receive…I rejoice that they ask for much, because it is my desire to give much, very much…I am sad when souls ask for little, when they narrow their hearts. (Jesus in  Diary Of Saint Maria Faustina Kowalska: Divine Mercy In My Soul by Faustina)

Tagged:

Comments are closed.

What’s this?

You are currently reading Mercy at One Light Many Windows.

meta

